Welcome to the Order of the Sacred Star! This Pagan/Wiccan group, based in Winnipeg, Canada, is committed to teaching the Craft to all those who wish to learn. Our goal is to provide a complete and fulfulling learning experience. Our public classes are offered through the Winnipeg Pagan Teaching Circle.

Friday, April 20, 2012

Preparing for Magick: The Body of Energy

Energy exists within you and around you. It is everywhere. Every living thing both generates energy and uses it. This constant generation and use of energy creates an energy field. This energy field should be strong, bright, and clear for your magick to be at its best.

The Aura of the Physical Body

The energy that powers the physical, mental, emotional, and spiritual bodies forms a kind of ethereal body. This energy, sometimes called chi or mana, permeates the entire physical body, and even extends out from the skin. It manifests itself as a glow that is usually invisible to the naked eye, but can be seen by most magicians.

This glow is commonly called the aura. Most people can learn to see it, with just a little training and practice. Some people will see it in black and white, and others have the privilege of seeing it in full color. There are a few who cannot see this aura at all, but these are few and far between. Usually, these people can sense it, rather than see it directly.

The aura reflects both your energy level and your general health, including physical health.

The Energy Centers of the Physical Body

Within the aura are several centers of energy, commonly called chakras. While there are likely hundreds of these scattered throughout the body, most traditions agree that there are seven major chakras.
  • Crown chakra – Represented by the color purple, located at the top of the head, and is the center of divine connection.
  • Third Eye Chakra – Represented by the color dark blue, located between the eyebrows, and is the center of psychic sensitivity.
  • Throat Chakra – Represented by the color light blue, located at the base of the throat, and is the center of communication.
  • Heart Chakra – Represented by the color green, located at the heart, and is the center of emotion.
  • Solar Plexus Chakra – Represented by the color yellow, located beneath the rib cage, and is the center of vitality.
  • Sacral Chakra – Represented by the color orange, located near the navel, and is the center of sexuality and creative energies.
  • Root Chakra – Represented by the color red, located at the base of the spine, and is the center of survival and basic life functions.
The chakras are points of energy located within the body where certain types of energy are concentrated. They can be visualized as spheres of colored light, and reflect the general health of their respective qualities, as indicated above. When an individual is trained to visualize chakras, it's said that you can locate energy imbalances within each point. For example, a dim or murky heart chakra could mean weak or damaging relationships. However, a clear and bright throat chakra may symbolize strong and healthy communication skills.

All magicians should monitor and maintain both their aura and their chakras. If your body of energy becomes dim, weak, or debilitated in some way, you may become both physically and emotionally ill. There are many ways to maintain the body of energy, such as meditation, adherence to the Witches’ Pyramid, and practicing magick ethically. There are also methods for cleansing the body of energy, once it has become contaminated. All of these should be used when necessary.

No comments:

Post a Comment